• Sun October 1, 2017 3:00 am
    • Empty Bottle Book Club

    • 'Sour Heart' by Jenny Zhang

    Free
    BUY INFO

    This month the Empty Bottle Book Club will be reading Sour Heart. by Jenny Zhang. The meeting will be held on Sunday, October 1st at 3PM!

    EBBC's selections will be available for purchase each month at Wicker Park Secret Agent Supply Co. Support a local business and 826CHI, a great nonprofit dedicated to supporting students with their creative writing skills, by picking up your copy of this book from our friends at 1276 Milwaukee Avenue!

    A sly debut story collection that conjures the experience of adolescence through the eyes of Chinese American girls growing up in New York City—for readers of Zadie Smith, Helen Oyeyemi, and Junot Díaz

    A fresh new voice emerges with the arrival of SOUR HEART, establishing Jenny Zhang as a frank and subversive interpreter of the immigrant experience in America. Her stories cut across generations and continents, moving from the fraught halls of a public school in Flushing, Queens, to the tumultuous streets of Shanghai, China, during the Cultural Revolution of the 1960s. In the absence of grown-ups, latchkey kids experiment on each other until one day the experiments turn violent; an overbearing mother abandons her artistic aspirations to come to America but relives her glory days through karaoke; and a shy loner struggles to master English so she can speak to God.

    Narrated by the daughters of Chinese immigrants who fled imperiled lives as artists back home only to struggle to stay afloat—dumpster diving for food and scamming Atlantic City casino buses to make a buck—these seven stories showcase Zhang’s compassion, moral courage, and a perverse sense of humor reminiscent of Portnoy’s Complaint. A darkly funny and intimate rendering of girlhood, SOUR HEART examines what it means to belong to a family, to find your home, leave it, reject it, and return again.